Mike's Struggle

The Story From A Broken Mind

My trip to Shadrack’s Christmas Wonderland

Coast 25.oo per car.

20151205_222530Me and my daughter wanted to go see Christmas lights. I google the subject and found a new one opening up in my area just this year.  It is called Shadrack’s Christmas Wonderland, and it seemed nice.

I live about an hour and a half away which sucked but hey it would be a fun ride. So we set off at 5:30pm figuring that we would be at Shadrack’s Christmas Wonderland at the big Butler fairgrounds by 8 / 8:15pm. I knew there would be a wait to get inside so I factored in about 30 minutes for that 30 minutes for the lights and 30 minutes to see Santa and get hot choco. Then the drive home and we would be back by 11pm at the latest.

We ate dinner and all she could talk about was seeing Santa and the Christmas lights. We left early at 5:15pm. That was the only part that went right. At 8pm we hit traffic about 2.5 miles from the Butler fairgrounds where  Shadrack’s Christmas Wonderland was being held. It took us until 10:15pm to get to the payment booth. Two hours to go 2 miles.

Shadrack’s Christmas Wonderland did have a nice guy tell everyone that they where very sorry for the wait. At this point I am thinking okay we are in, waited in the drive up area an other 20 minutes to reach the payment booth. asked if there was a discount for the wait and there poor planning and was meet with a no.

So one would think it nice of Shadrack’s Christmas Wonderland not to just turn people away at 10pm when it was scheduled to close. But they closed Santa’s village and Santa had left by the time we reached the end of the light show. So no Santa, no santa village and no hot choco. My daughter was at this point (10;40 ish Pm) tire and very upset.

So now I have a cranky daughter and an hour and a half drive home.  Well being the late hour she fell asleep on the drive home and we did not get home till 12:22am.

Oh and I forgot to mention they had no one policing the policy of no head lights so myself and I am sure others had the experience of the people behind me blaring head lights into my car as I tried to enjoy the light show.

****I have messaged Shadrack’s Christmas Wonderland on their facebook page and am waiting to see if they reach out to me about my issues.

I have posted some pictures and videos below of light show.

Posted By: Mike G

Tell me what you think

